When having the flag attended, is the caddy permitted to leave the flagstick in the hole (stop attending the flag) whilst the ball is in motion? Cred @europeantour ANSWER ⬇️ . . . . . . Answer: They can stop holding the flag, but they are still considered to be attending the flagstick, and the player would incur a two stroke penalty if the ball hits the flagstick. If a flagstick is being attended with the player’s knowledge when a stroke is made, it is still considered to be being attended until the ball comes to rest. This is the same in 2018 and 2019. 2018: Rule 17-2. 2019: Rule 13.2b. (Exception for accidental, but this would be hard to go in favour of the player if it were their caddie).